Service to co-ops and mutuals recognised in Australia Day 2023 Honours List

27 January 2023

Congratulations to these outstanding people on being recognised in the 2023 Honours List. Your service and achievements shine a light on the co-operative and mutual sector:

Officer (AO) in the General Division of the Order of Australia – Recipients

  • Ms Merran Horne Kelsall, for distinguished service to the financial accounting sector, professional organisations and the community. Ms Kelsall was a Director of the Royal Automobile Club of Victoria, from 2008–2020.

Member (AM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia – Recipients

  • The Honourable Professor Verity Firth, for significant service to the Parliament of New South Wales and social inclusion. The Hon. Professor Firth has been a Board Member of the Teacher’s Mutual Bank since 2020.
  • The Honourable Eadley Graeme Stoney, for significant service to the community and the Parliament of Victoria. The Hon. Stoney was General Manager of FFORNE (Farm Forestry North East) hardwood co-operative from 2007–2009 and leader in the establishment of Mansfield Seed Producers Cooperative, Mansfield, in the 1980s.
  • Mr Stephen John Scudamore, for significant service to business and commerce and the mining and resources sector. Mr Scudamore has been a Board Member of MDA National since 2012,  Chair of the Insurance Board since 2014 and a Board Member of MDA National Ltd since 2013.
  • Mrs Dalene Wray, for significant service to the organic beef industry and professional organisations. Mrs Wray was a Member of the Industry Advisory Group, Farm Cooperatives and Collaboration Pilot Program (Farming Together), 2016–2018.

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the General Division – Recipients

  • Ms Alexandrea Cannon, for service to business. Ms Cannon was Chair of Credit Union SA from 2007-2017 and a Non-Executive Director of Credit Union SA from 2005–2021.
  • Mr Robert John King, for service to the community of Nuriootpa. Mr King was a Committee Member of the Nuriootpa Community Store Board (The Barossa Co-op) serving from 1972–2000.

Latest news

24 April 2024

Finding senior leaders: A recruitment guide for co-ops and mutuals – Part 3

Gerard Daniels' Geoff Curran delves into the crucial steps of selecting and securing the right candidate for senior leadership positions.
18 April 2024

Empowering positive change through social enterprise procurement

One of the main differences between co-operative and mutual enterprises and investor-led models is the importance the co-operative and mutual movement places on putting...
18 April 2024

Tackling the affordable housing crisis: New co-operative housing complex opens in Cabramatta

Common Equity NSW (CENSW) has opened its latest co-operative housing development at 3 Lasa St, Cabramatta.