Service to co-ops and mutuals recognised in King’s Birthday 2024 Honours List

11 June 2024

Congratulations to these outstanding people on being recognised in the King’s Birthday 2024 Honours List. Your service and achievements shine a light on the co-operative and mutual sector:

Member (AM) in the general division of the Order of Australia

Dr Bronwyn Maree Bancroft

For significant service to the arts, and to the Indigenous community

  • Boomalli Aboriginal Artists Co-operative: Member, since 1987, Founding Committee Member, Treasurer, Acting Chair, Director and Board Member, Senior Strategist, since 2009.
  • Tranby Aboriginal College: Board Member, 2007–2009.

Professor Emertia Heather Goodall

For significant service to tertiary education, particularly social science, and to the Indigenous community.

  • Tranby Aboriginal Co-operative College: Teacher, 1981–1983.

Mr Clifford Neville Fleming

For significant service to business, and to the community of Bundaberg.

  • Australian Beverages Enterprises Cooperative Society, Founding Director.

Dr Beres Carmel Woodhead

For significant service to general practice medicine, particularly in board leadership roles, and to the community.

  • MDA National Insurance, Vice-President, 2008–2018. Councillor, 2004–2018.
  • Family Care Friendly Society, Former Chair.

Ms Nicolette Liesbeth Rubinsztein

For significant service to business, particularly the finance and commerce sectors.

  • UniSuper, Director, since 2015.
  • CBHS Health Fund, Non-Executive Director, since 2018.

Medal (OAM) of the Order of Australia in the general division

Mrs Anita Ilze Anderson (Apsitis)

For service to the Latvian community of Australia.

  • Melbourne Latvian Cooperative Ltd (Melbourne Latvian House), Director, Board, five years.

Ms Rhonda Joan Parker

For service to the community of Boyup Brook.

  • Boyup Brook Co-operative: Member, Board of Directors, 1994–2000.

Dr Penny Browne

For service to medicine as a general practitioner.

  • Avant Mutual, Chief Medical Officer, 2015–2022. Non-Executive Director, since 2022.
  • Avant Foundation, Co-Founder and Former Chair.

Ms Cecilia Rose Gore-Birch

For service to the Indigenous community of Western Australia.

  • Original Power, Former Director.

Mrs Lesley Ann Woolf

For service to Indigenous health, and to rural and remote nursing.

  • Mala’la Health Service Aboriginal Corporation: Executive Health Manager, Health, Aged Care and Community Services, since 2023. Manager, Health and Community Services, 2018–2023.
  • Malabam Health Board: Manager, Stronger Communities for Children, since 2016.
  • Danila Dilba Health Service: Manager, Chronic Disease and Care Coordination, 2012–2016.

Ms Margaret Jane Maunsell

For service to business, and to the community of Cairns.

  • Cairns Bank. Board Member and Company Secretary, since 2009.

Latest news

07 June 2024

Care co-ops in the spotlight at the International Labour Conference

The 112th session of the International Labour Conference (ILC) discussed the issue of decent work in the care economy.
06 June 2024

Important Notice: Phishing Alert – email security advisory

Phishing alert – email security advisory – from BCCM CEO.
02 June 2024

BCCM CEO Visits MONDRAGON Corporation: A groundbreaking co-operative model

BCCM CEO Melina Morrison recently visited the Mondragon Corporation in Spain highlighting the BCCM’s commitment to learning from global leaders in co-operative business...